Violeta PARRA

Violeta PARRA

1917-1967, singer and visual artist

Violeta del Carmen Parra Sandoval was born on October 4, 1917, in San Carlos, Chile, and died on February 5, 1967, in Santiago. Influenced by a peasant mother – guitarist and singer in her spare time – and a musician father, Violeta was a folk singer, composer, poet, visual artist (ceramics, painting, sculpture, tapestry) and social activist. She is major figure in Latin American folklore. Her most famous song is Gracias a la Vida.

At a very young age, Parra learned to sing, play various instruments (guitar, flute, drums) and compose songs. Forced to earn money to support herself and her family following her father's illness and death, she dropped out of school and sang, with her brothers and sisters or alone, in restaurants, bars, trains, circuses or brothels. Between 1949 and 1953, the folk duo she formed with her sister Hilda Parra, Las Hermanas Parra, recorded several singles of Chilean folk songs (El Caleuche, Judas, La cueca de la payaso). In the early 1950s, she travel all around Chile to collect and record traditional songs. As one of Chile's first folklorists, she contributed to the process of creating Chile's national identity. These compilations of more than 3000 songs gave rise to a book, Cantos folclóricos chilenos, and her first solo albums. Increasingly known in Chile, she won the Caupolicán Prize for the best folk performer in 1954 and performed in the USSR and Europe. During this period, in addition to four new records (Canto y guitarra, Acompañada de guitarra, La tonada, La cueca), she diversified her artistic activities, creating ceramics, oil paintings and tapestries among others.

In 1961, Parra settled in Paris and gave recitals at the Barrio Latino and the Théâtre des Nations. In 1964, she exhibited a series of tapestries and sculptures at the Musée des arts décoratifs in the Palais du Louvre. Between 1963 and 1965, she lived in Geneva, at 15 rue Voltaire, with musicologist Gilbert Favre. She exhibited tapestries at the University of Geneva. It was at this time that she composed her most militant songs (Miren cómo sonrien or Qué dirá el Santo Padre) that formed the basis of the political movement and musical genre Nueva Canción Chilena. This movement integrates calls for social justice into traditional music and, far from the idealized representations of the Chilean people that this music usually conveys, seeks to give a voice to the most disadvantaged. Parra's targets are mainly landowners, the military and the church. Returning to Chile in 1965, she tried to open a folk culture centre, but without success. She recorded some of her most famous songs (Run Run se fue pa'l norte, Gracias a la vida, Volver a los 17) before killing herself on February 5, 1967, in Santiago.


(LP)

Discography (selection)
  • Chants et danses du Chili, vol. 1 (1956)
  • Violeta Parra, Canto y guitarra. El Folklore de Chile, vol. 1 (1956)
  • Recordando a Chile (una chilena en París) (1965)
  • Carpa de la Reina (1966)
  • Las últimas composiciones de Violeta Parra (1967)
  • Un río de sangre (1975)
Bibliography
Lire cette biographie en français.

Violeta PARRA

Violeta PARRA

1917-1967, Chanteuse et artiste plasticienne

Née le 4 octobre 1917 à San Carlos au Chili, décédée le 5 février 1967 à Santiago. Violeta del Carmen Parra Sandoval, originaire d’une mère paysanne, guitariste et chanteuse durant son temps libre, et d’un père musicien, est une chanteuse folk, compositrice, poétesse, artiste plasticienne (céramique, peinture, sculpture, tapisserie) et activiste sociale. Figure majeure du folklorisme d’Amérique latine, sa chanson la plus connue est Gracias a la vida.

Très jeune, Parra apprend à chanter, à jouer divers instruments (guitare, flutes, tambours) ainsi qu’à composer des chansons. Contrainte à devoir gagner de l’argent pour subvenir à ses besoins et à ceux de sa famille suite à la maladie, puis au décès de son père, elle abandonne l’école normale et chante, avec ses frères et sœurs ou en solo, dans des restaurants, des bars, des trains, des cirques ou des bordels. Entre 1949 et 1953, le duo folklorique qu’elle forme avec sa sœur Hilda Parra, Las Hermanas Parra, enregistre plusieurs singles de chansons populaires chiliennes (El Caleuche, Judas, La cueca de la payaso). Au début des années cinquante, elle entame un tour du Chili afin de collecter et d’enregistrer des chants traditionnels. Devenant l’une des premières folkloristes du Chili, elle contribue ainsi au processus de création de l’identité nationale chilienne. Ces compilations de plus de 3'000 chansons donnent lieu à un livre, Cantos folclóricos chilenos, et à ses premiers disques en solo. De plus en plus connue au Chili, elle remporte notamment le prix Caupolicán de la meilleure interprète folkloriste en 1954 et se produit en URSS et en Europe. Durant cette période, outre quatre nouveaux disques (Canto y guitarra, Acompañada de guitarra, La tonada, La cueca), elle diversifie ses activités artistiques, pratiquant entre autres la céramique, la peinture à huile et la tapisserie.

Installée à Paris en 1961, Parra donne des récitals au Barrio Latino et au Théâtre des Nations. En 1964, elle expose une série de tapisseries et de sculptures au Musée des arts décoratifs du Palais du Louvre. Entre 1963 et 1965, elle vit à Genève, au n° 15 de la rue Voltaire, avec le musicologue Gilbert Favre. Elle expose des tapisseries à l’Université de Genève. C’est à cette époque qu’elle compose ses chansons les plus militantes (Miren cómo sonrien ou Qué dirá el Santo Padre) qui formeront la base du mouvement politique et genre musical Nueva Canción Chilena. Ce courant intègre à la musique traditionnelle des appels à la justice sociale et, loin des représentations idéalisées du peuple chilien que véhicule d’ordinaire cette musique, cherche à donner de la voix aux plus démunis. Les cibles de Parra sont principalement les propriétaires terriens, les militaires et l’église. Retournée au Chili en 1965, elle tente d’ouvrir un centre de culture folklorique, mais sans succès. Elle enregistre encore certaines de ses chansons les plus connues (Run Run se fue pa’l norte, Gracias a la vida, Volver a los 17) avant de se donner la mort le 5 février 1967 à Santiago.


(LP)

Discographie (sélection)
  • Chants et danses du Chili, vol. 1 (1956)
  • Violeta Parra, Canto y guitarra. El Folklore de Chile, vol. 1 (1956)
  • Recordando a Chile (una chilena en París) (1965)
  • Carpa de la Reina (1966)
  • Las últimas composiciones de Violeta Parra (1967)
  • Un río de sangre (1975)
Bibliographie
Oeuvres
  • Cantos Folklóricos Chilenos, Santiago, Nascimento, 1979.
  • Poésie populaire des Andes, Paris, Maspero, 1965.
Travaux
Read this biography in English.