Mary MCGEACHY

1901-1991, UNRRA diplomat

Born on the 7th of November 1901 in Sarnia, Canada, Mary (Agney Craig) McGeachy was an international civil servant for the League of Nations who moved to working for the UN Relief and Rehabilitation Administration after the war. She was also the first woman to gain British diplomatic status as First secretary to the British embassy in Washington in 1942, as well as President of the Woman’s International Council from 1963 to 1973.

Mary McGeachy studied History and English Literature at the University of Toronto. Her father was a pastor, and she grew up in a very religious, middle-class Protestant family. Her attachment to religion followed her throughout her life. She became an active member of the International Christian student Movement at university, which helped nurture her interest for internationalism. After she graduated, she became a high school history teacher in Hamilton, Canada.

After taking part in several conferences around Europe, she moved to Geneva in 1927, where she shared an apartment on the Place du Bourg de Four. There, she worked as a writer for the newspaper Vox Studentium, but dreamt of working for the League of Nations. She joined the organisation in 1928, and became responsible for communications between the League of Nations and international feminine organisations. In 1940, she left Geneva. During the war, she helped several of her colleagues, and herself, reach the United States by driving through France and Spain, finally reaching Portugal and catching a boat to New York. Upon arrival, she was recruited by the British Ministry of Economic Warfare and became the First secretary to the British Embassy. In 1942, she became the first woman to receive British Diplomatic status - but, unlike her male counterparts, this was only on a temporary basis.

She married in 1944 and chose to keep her maiden name, McGeachy. That same year, she became Director of the social protection department of the UN Relief and Rehabilitation Administration. This particular branch of the new organisation of the UN aimed to organise Europe’s reconstruction after the War. In 1946, Mary McGeachy retired, adopted two children and dedicated herself to her family for over ten year, living between the US, South Africa and Canada.

Following her husband’s suicide in 1963, she became President of the International Council of Women - which was an unpaid position - until 1973. According to her biographer, Mary McGeachy did not feel comfortable being defined as a feminist, and during her presidency, found it difficult to identify with the demands of the new generations who were marching for sexual liberation. She was made a Lady of the Order of Saint John in 1986, and died in 1991 in New York.


(MP)

Bibliography
Lire cette biographie en français.

Mary MCGEACHY

1901-1991, Fonctionnaire de l’UNRRA

Née le 7 novembre 1901 à Sarnia au Canada et morte le 2 novembre 1991 à New York, Mary (Agnes Craig) McGeachy est une fonctionnaire internationale de la Société des Nations, puis dans la période qui suit la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, de l'Administration des Nations unies pour le secours et la reconstruction. Elle est aussi la première femme à accéder au grade diplomatique britannique en tant que Première secrétaire de l’Ambassade britannique à Washington en 1942, et Présidente du Conseil internationale des femmes de 1963 à 1973.

Mary McGeachy étudie l’histoire et la littérature anglaise à l’université de Toronto. Fille de pasteur, elle grandit dans une famille protestante et très pratiquante de la classe moyenne. Elle donne beaucoup d’importance au religieux durant sa vie et dans sa période universitaire, elle s’implique activement dans le mouvement international des étudiants chrétiens, ce qui développe son intérêt pour l’internationalisme. À la sortie de l’université, elle enseigne l’histoire à l’Institut d’étude secondaire de Hamilton, au Canada.

Après avoir participé à plusieurs conférences en Europe, elle s’installe à Genève en 1927 où elle partage un appartement à la place du Bourg de Four. Dans un premier temps, elle est rédactrice pour le journal Vox Studentium mais rêve de devenir employée à la Société des Nations. Elle rejoint l’organisation en 1928, en tant que chargée de la communication de la Société des Nations avec les organisations féminines internationales. En 1940, elle quitte Genève. En ces temps de guerre, elle aide plusieurs de ses collègues et elle-même à rejoindre les États-Unis en conduisant à travers la France et l’Espagne pour rejoindre le Portugal et prendre un bateau. À son arrivée à New York, elle est recrutée par le ministère de l’Économie de Guerre britannique et devient Première secrétaire de l’Ambassade britannique. En 1942, elle est la première femme de l’histoire à recevoir le statut diplomatique britannique, mais à l’inverse de ses collègues masculins, uniquement de manière temporaire.

Elle se marie en 1944 et choisit de conserver son nom de naissance, McGeachy. La même année, elle devient directrice du service en charge de la protection sociale de l'Administration des Nations unies pour le secours et la reconstruction. Cet organe de la nouvelle organisation des Nations unies a pour but d’organiser la reconstruction de l’Europe suite à la Deuxième Guerre mondiale. En 1946, Mary McGeachy se retire, adopte deux enfants et se consacre à sa famille pendant plus de dix ans, vivant entre les États-Unis, l’Afrique du Sud et le Canada.

Après le suicide de son mari en 1963, elle devient présidente du Conseil internationale des femmes jusqu’en 1973, un rôle bénévole. D’après sa biographe, Mary McGeachy n’aimait pas être définie comme féministe et lors de sa présidence, elle eut du mal à saisir les revendications des nouvelles générations qui demandaient la libération sexuelle. Elle est faite Dame de l’Ordre de Saint-Jean en 1986 et meurt en 1991 à New York.


(MP)

Bibliographie