Marie-Thérèse MAURETTE

Marie-Thérèse MAURETTE

1890 – 1989, Director of the International School of Geneva

Marie-Thérèse Maurette was born on 28 September 1890 and died on 25 June 1989, in Paris. Her parents were Paul Dupuy (secretary general of the École Normale Supérieure) and Marthe Le Cœur. After studying at Collège Sévigné, Maurette chose not to prepare the agrégation*, dismaying Mathilde Salomon, the school’s director. Maurette instead followed the advice of teacher Alice Hertz (-Bauer), moving to London to study the Froebel and Montessori teaching methods for two years. She returned to Paris in 1911, where she married geographer Fernand Maurette and began teaching at Collège Sévigné where she and Alice Hertz (-Bauer) worked closely together. The two teachers established one of France’s first jardin d’enfants (day care centre), as well as training for the centre’s employees.

In 1924, the Maurette family moved to Geneva, where Fernand Maurette had been hired as head of the International Labour Office’s Research Division. Marie-Thérèse continued her educational work at the International School of Geneva (Ecolint), becoming Director General in 1929. The school was founded in 1924 by Genevan educators and by officials from the League of Nations and ILO. For the next twenty years, she helped the school grow, adding initiatives such as French-English bilingualism, international history and culture classes, and coeducation. These initiatives furthered the school’s goal of educating for peace, as inspired by the world’s international organisations.

After World War Two, Maurette spent several months in New York, becoming closely involved in plans to establish an international school there. Upon her return to Europe, she worked with a UNESCO team writing an international history manual. She also gave several conferences, mainly focusing on strategies in educating for peace.

Marie-Thérèse Maurette moved back to Paris in 1950. In 1974, to commemorate Ecolint’s fiftieth birthday, she helped write a memory book, making one last trip to Geneva to mark the occasion.

*Competitive examination to teach in the French public education system


(RC)

Bibliography
  • Hamayed, Othman, Wilde, Conan de, De l’Écolint. Histoire de l’École internationale de Genève, Genève, École internationale de Genève, 2014.
  • Maurette, Marie-Thérèse, Roquette, Fred & Elly, Briquet, Élisabeth, Lejeune, René-François, Groenedijk, Arie, École internationale de Genève. Son premier demi-siècle, Genève, AIJJR Archives, 1974.
  • Maurette, Marie-Thérèse, Journal de famille, 1982, transmis par sa petite-fille Thérèse Picquenard-Maurette en septembre 2015.
  • Walker, George, Marie-Thérèse Maurette. Pionnière de l’éducation internationale, École internationale de Genève, 2009.
Lire cette biographie en français.

Marie-Thérèse MAURETTE

Marie-Thérèse MAURETTE

1890-1989, Directrice de l’École internationale de Genève

Née à Paris le 28.9.1890 et décédée à Paris le 25.6.1989. Fille de Paul Dupuy, secrétaire général de l’École normale supérieure de la rue d’Ulm, et de Marthe Le Cœur. Après des études au collège Sévigné, Marie-Thérèse Maurette choisit de ne pas de préparer l’agrégation, au grand dam de la directrice Mathilde Salomon. Sur les conseils de la pédagogue Alice Hertz (-Bauer), elle part à Londres et étudie durant deux ans les méthodes éducatives de Froebel et Montessori. De retour à Paris en 1911, elle épouse le géographe Fernand Maurette et débute un enseignement au collège Sévigné, où elle travaille en étroite collaboration avec Alice Hertz (-Bauer). Les deux enseignantes mettent en place l’un des premiers jardins d’enfants en France, ainsi que la formation de jardinière d’enfants.

En 1924, la famille Maurette déménage à Genève où Fernand Maurette a accepté la responsabilité de la Division des recherches au BIT. Marie-Thérèse Maurette poursuit quant à elle son travail de pédagogue à l’École internationale de Genève (Écolint), fondée en 1924 par des fonctionnaires internationaux et des pédagogues genevois, dont elle devient la directrice en 1929. Durant vingt ans, elle développe cette école et met en pratique toute une série de nouveautés, qu’il s’agisse du bilinguisme français-anglais, des cours d’histoire internationale et de culture internationale (géographie) et d’un enseignement mixte. Ces nouveautés servent plus largement le projet d’une éducation à la paix, dans les pas des organisations internationales.

Au lendemain de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, la pédagogue prend une part très active aux travaux préparatoires destinés à créer une école internationale à New York, où elle séjourne durant plusieurs mois. De retour en Europe, elle œuvre au sein de l’UNESCO dans un groupe de travail chargé de la rédaction d’un manuel d’histoire internationale et donne également une série de conférences, notamment sur les techniques d’éducation à la paix.

En 1950, Marie-Thérèse Maurette quitte définitivement Genève pour rentrer à Paris. Elle revient cependant une dernière fois sur les bords du Léman en 1974, à l’occasion du demi-siècle de l’Écolint auquel elle collabore par la rédaction du livre de souvenirs.


(RC)

Bibliographie
  • Hamayed, Othman, Wilde, Conan de, De l’Écolint. Histoire de l’École internationale de Genève, Genève, École internationale de Genève, 2014.
  • Maurette, Marie-Thérèse, Roquette, Fred & Elly, Briquet, Élisabeth, Lejeune, René-François, Groenedijk, Arie, École internationale de Genève. Son premier demi-siècle, Genève, AIJJR Archives, 1974.
  • Maurette, Marie-Thérèse, Journal de famille, 1982, transmis par sa petite-fille Thérèse Picquenard-Maurette en septembre 2015.
  • Walker, George, Marie-Thérèse Maurette. Pionnière de l’éducation internationale, École internationale de Genève, 2009.