Marguerite FRICK-CRAMER

1887-1963, ICRC Delegate

Born on the 28th of December 1887 in Geneva and deceased on the 22nd of October 1963 in the same city, Renée-Marguerite Cramer started her career as a historian before becoming the first woman delegate and member of the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC). Daughter of Eugénie Léonie Micheli and of Louis Cramer, steward and member of the consistory, she grew up in a family of the Geneva bourgeoisie. As such, several members of her family, both close and distant, sat as members in ICRC at the same time as she did.

Having graduated with a law degree from the University of Geneva in 1910 and then after obtaining a doctorate in literature, Renée-Marguerite Cramer specialised herself in the history of the Swiss Confederation and for a while went on to undertake university research. She was awarded the Ador Prize for History both in 1911 and in 1913. A prize given out for the quality of her works on Geneva's political and diplomatic relations in the 19th century. The titles of which translate from the original French to “The political relations of Geneva and of the Swiss during the 18th century” and “The diplomatic relations of Geneva from 1814 to 1816”. In 1914, she published her most known work, Genève et les Suisses or “Geneva and the Swiss”, during the centennial of the attachment of the city to the confederation. Four years later, she became the substitute professor of national history at the university of Geneva.

During the First World War, Renée-Marguerite Cramer became somewhat closer to the ICRC: she participated in the creation of the International Prisoners of War Agency of Geneva and presided over the branch dedicated to the Agreement’s prisoners alongside Jacques Chenevière. In 1918, after a first semester of teaching at the university, wherein she was supposed to replace the historian Charles Bourgeaud, she became the first woman to become a member of the directing committee of the ICRC, the entry of which is done by co-optation. She thus became closer to the path of her maternal grandfather, who was one of the first members of the institution. In 1920, she married Édouard Frick, who was General Delegate of the ICRC for Oriental Europe.

Throughout the duration of her function from 1918 to 1946, Renée-Marguerite Cramer participated in the drafting of the Convention of 1929 relative to the Treatment of Prisoners of War as well as the Tokyo Project of 1934. The latter was never completed, despite its ambition to protect civilians of enemy nationality in times of war. More specifically, during Second World War, Renée-Marguerite Cramer campaigned in favour for an intervention against the deportations committed by Nazi Germany. To do so, she urged the presidents of the ICRC, Max Huber and Carl J. Burckhardt to launch an appeal by the institution on this subject and to send an emissary to Berlin to discuss the fate of political prisoners. However, her proposition was rejected by an important section of the committee. In 1946, Renée-Marguerite Cramer eventually resigned from the ICRC, although she was named an honorary member for the rest of her life. She died on the 22nd of October 1963 in Geneva.


(CM)

Bibliography
  • Palmieri, Daniel, « Marguerite Frick-Cramer » in Ziegler Deuber, Erica, Tikhonov, Natalia, Les Femmes dans la mémoire de Genève, Genève, Éditions Susan Hurter, 2005, pp. 182-183.
  • Pavillon, Monique, « Les femmes suisses face à la Deuxième Duerre mondiale », in Matériaux pour l’histoire de notre temps, 2009, n° 93, pp. 49-59.
  • « Prix Ador, Prix Disier, Prix Hentsch, Prix Humbert, Prix universitaires et Prix universitaires non décernés. 1870-1992 », in CH BGE 1-127, Catalogue des manuscrits, Bibliothèque de Genève.
  • Rossi, Frédéric, Vuilleumier, Christophe, Quel est le salaud qui m’a poussé ? Cent figures de l’histoire suisse, Gollion, Infolio, 2016.
  • Vonèche, Cardia, « Les raisons du silence du comité international de la Croix-Rouge (CICR) face aux déportations », in Revue d’Histoire de la Shoah, n° 203, 2015, pp. 87-122.
Lire cette biographie en français.

Marguerite FRICK-CRAMER

1887-1963, Déléguée du CICR

Née le 28 décembre 1887 à Genève, décédée le 22 octobre 1963 au même endroit, Renée-Marguerite Cramer débute une carrière d’historienne avant de devenir la première femme déléguée, puis membre du Comité international de la Croix-Rouge (CICR). Fille d’Eugénie Léonie Micheli et de Louis Cramer, régisseur et membre du Consistoire, elle grandit dans une famille de la bourgeoisie genevoise. À ce titre, plusieurs membres de sa famille, plus ou moins éloignés, siègent en même temps qu’elle au CICR.

Licenciée de droit à l’Université de Genève en 1910, puis docteure ès lettres, Renée-Marguerite Cramer se spécialise en histoire de la Confédération helvétique et se dirige un temps vers des recherches universitaires. En 1911 et en 1913, elle reçoit à deux reprises le Prix Ador d’histoire pour la qualité de ses travaux consacrés aux relations politiques et diplomatiques de Genève au XIXe siècle : Les relations politiques de Genève et des Suisses au 18e siècle et Les relations diplomatiques de Genève de 1814 à 1816. En 1914, elle publie son ouvrage le plus célèbre, Genève et les Suisses, lors du Centenaire du rattachement de la ville à la Confédération. Quatre ans plus tard, elle devient professeure suppléante d’histoire nationale à l’Université de Genève.

Au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale, Renée-Marguerite Cramer se rapproche également du CICR : elle participe à la création de l’Agence internationale des prisonniers de guerre (AIPG) de Genève et préside, aux côtés de Jacques Chenevière, le service dédié aux prisonniers de l’Entente. En 1918, après un premier semestre d’enseignement à l’université, celle qui était désignée pour remplacer l’historien Charles Borgeaud, est la première femme à devenir membre du comité, l’organe dirigeant du CICR, où l’entrée se fait par cooptation. Elle se rapproche, dès lors, du parcours de son grand-père maternel, qui avait été l’un des premiers membres de l’institution. En 1920, elle se marie avec Édouard Frick, qui est délégué général du CICR pour l’Europe orientale.

Au cours de sa fonction, de 1918 à 1946, Renée-Marguerite Cramer participe à la rédaction de la Convention de 1929 relative au traitement des prisonniers de guerre et à celle du projet dit de Tokyo en 1934. Celui-ci n’aboutit pas, malgré son ambition de protéger les civils de nationalités ennemies en temps de guerre. Plus particulièrement, au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, Renée-Marguerite Cramer milite en faveur d’une intervention contre les déportations commises par l’Allemagne nazie. Pour cela, elle insiste auprès des présidents du CICR, Max Huber et Carl J. Burckhardt, pour qu’un appel soit lancé par l’institution à ce sujet et qu’un émissaire soit envoyé à Berlin pour discuter du sort des prisonniers politiques. Mais, sa proposition est rejetée par une partie importante du comité. En 1946, Renée-Marguerite Cramer finit par démissionner du CICR, mais, elle est nommée membre honoraire jusqu’à la fin de sa vie. Elle s’éteint le 22 octobre 1963 à Genève.


(CM)

Bibliographie
  • Palmieri, Daniel, « Marguerite Frick-Cramer » in Ziegler Deuber, Erica, Tikhonov, Natalia, Les Femmes dans la mémoire de Genève, Genève, Éditions Susan Hurter, 2005, pp. 182-183.
  • Pavillon, Monique, « Les femmes suisses face à la Deuxième Duerre mondiale », in Matériaux pour l’histoire de notre temps, 2009, n° 93, pp. 49-59.
  • « Prix Ador, Prix Disier, Prix Hentsch, Prix Humbert, Prix universitaires et Prix universitaires non décernés. 1870-1992 », in CH BGE 1-127, Catalogue des manuscrits, Bibliothèque de Genève.
  • Rossi, Frédéric, Vuilleumier, Christophe, Quel est le salaud qui m’a poussé ? Cent figures de l’histoire suisse, Gollion, Infolio, 2016.
  • Vonèche, Cardia, « Les raisons du silence du comité international de la Croix-Rouge (CICR) face aux déportations », in Revue d’Histoire de la Shoah, n° 203, 2015, pp. 87-122.