Hélène GAUTIER-PICTET

Hélène GAUTIER-PICTET

1888-1973, Founder of the Feminist Associations Liaison Center of Geneva

Hélène Gautier-Pictet is an important figure in the fight for women’s access to civil rights in the canton of Geneva. She was born on the 8th of May 1888 in Bern and died on the 14th of December 1973 in Grenolier, and was the daughter of Marie Hirschgartner and Paul Pictet, a jurist and founder of the newspaper La Suisse. In her youth, she was an auditor at the University of Geneva, where she met Émilie Gourd. This encounter encouraged her to fight for women’s rights. She then founded the « Association Féminine d’Éducation Nationale » (or the Feminine Association for National Education) which would offer courses for civil instruction, and from 1937 onwards, she went on to be the founder of the Centre de Liaison des Associations Feminines Genevoises (CLAFG) (or the Feminist Associations Liason Center of Geneva).

The Liaison Center’s goal is to regroup existing feminist associations in Geneva in order to allow them to consult each other and coordinate their efforts, thus facilitating action. Hélène Gautier-Pictet held the position of Presidency for almost 20 years. With the support of the associations, she would prepare requests destined to the canton’s authorities. After much effort, the Center gained increased influence and the representatives would regularly be invited to speak in front of the Grand Council of Geneva in order to make their opinions known on various women’s issues. At first, the Liasion Center included around 20 associations, while today it counts 45 member associations.

In 1951, Hélène Gautier-Pictet left her place as president to the Doctor Renee Girod. The next year, the Grand Council of Geneva planned a consultation with women regarding their right to vote. A convinced Suffragette, Hélène Gautier-Pictet had already declared in 1946 « for women, the right to vote is not a goal, but a beginning ». She actively prepared the campaign as the President of the committee, but the official referendum given in 1953, reserved for men, ended up being a failure (57% of votes against the cause). This engagement made of her one of the important figures for the struggle for women’s right to vote, which became effective only in 1960.

She then dedicated her life to peaceful action until her death in 1973. Since 1941, she had joined the Swiss Quaker group, a religious organization whose particularity is to function in a horizontal manner. She was also one of the pillars of the Geneva Assembly during the Second World War.


(MP)

Bibliography Travaux
Lire cette biographie en français.

Hélène GAUTIER-PICTET

Hélène GAUTIER-PICTET

1888-1973, Fondatrice du Centre de liaison des associations féminines de Genève

Née le 8 mai 1888 à Berne, morte le 14 décembre 1973 à Genolier, Hélène Gautier Pictet est une figure importante de la lutte pour l’accès aux droits civiques des femmes dans le canton de Genève. Elle est la fille de Marie Hirschgartner et de Paul Pictet, juriste fondateur du journal La Suisse. Dans sa jeunesse, elle est auditrice à l’université de Genève où elle fait connaissance avec Émilie Gourd. Une rencontre qui l’encourage à lutter pour le droit des femmes. Elle est fondatrice de l'Association féminine d'éducation nationale, qui offrait des cours d'instruction civique, puis à partir de 1937, du Centre de liaison des associations féminines genevoises (CLAFG).

Le Centre de liaison a pour but de grouper les associations féminines genevoises existantes pour leur permettre de se consulter et de coordonner leurs efforts, facilitant une action concertée. Hélène Gautier-Pictet y tient la présidence pendant près de vingt ans. Avec le soutien des associations, elle prépare des requêtes destinées aux autorités du canton. À force d’insistance, le Centre gagne en influence et les représentantes sont régulièrement invitées devant le Grand Conseil genevois pour faire connaitre leurs avis sur diverses questions concernant les femmes. À ses débuts, le Centre de liaison regroupait une vingtaine d’association, il compte aujourd’hui plus de 45 associations membres.

En 1951, Hélène Gautier-Pictet laisse sa place de présidente à la Docteure Renée Girod. L’année suivante, le Grand Conseil genevois prévoit une consultation des femmes relatives à leur droit de vote. Suffragiste convaincue, elle déclare déjà en 1946 « [p]our les femmes, le droit de vote n’est pas un but, c’est un point de départ ». Elle participe activement à la campagne en tant que présidente du comité, mais le référendum officiel de 1953, réservé aux hommes, se traduit par un échec (57% de « non »). Cet engagement fait d’elle l’une des figures de la lutte pour l’accès au droit de vote des Genevoises, qui ne deviendra effectif qu’en 1960.

Elle se consacre ensuite à l’action pacifique jusqu'à sa mort en 1973. Dès 1941, elle rejoint le groupe suisse des quakers, une organisation religieuse dont la particularité est de fonctionner de manière horizontale. Elle était l'un des piliers de l'assemblée genevoise pendant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale.


(MP)

Bibliographie
Source Travaux
Read this biography in English.