Alexandra KOLLONTAÏ

Alexandra KOLLONTAÏ

1872-1952, Ambassador for the USSR

Alexandra Kollontaï was born in Saint Petersburg on 19 March 1872 and died in Moscow on 9 March 1952. She was a revolutionary Russian diplomat, activist, and politician. Her whole life was devoted to improving the condition of women. She worked passionately and tirelessly to give women the right to equal pay, vote and run for election, divorce, and to enforce the right to abortion. Other causes she championed were a five-month maternity leave and creating nurseries and day-care centres.

Kollontaï was born into an aristocratic Russian family of Finnish descent. After completing her baccalauréat in Paris, she studied social sciences and economics at the University of Zurich, starting in August 1898. Over the course of her studies, she found a kindred spirit in Rosa Luxembourg. In Geneva, Kollontaï discovered Marxism thanks to Gueorgui Plekhanov. She was also involved in the Russian expatriate community. By 1906, she was already hailed as a specialist on socialism and the labour movement, having written three books on the topics. The next cause that caught her interest was women’s issues. On 9 January 1905, she marched on Saint Petersburg’s Palace Square, meeting Lenin the same year.

Kollontaï was a member of the Menshevik faction of the Russian Social Democratic Labour party from 1906 to 1915. In 1908, she was exiled from Russia, where she had been charged in two political trials. She would only return in 1917, shortly after the February Revolution, and as a Bolshevik this time. This was an important turning point in her political career. Indeed, in April, she was appointed to Petrograd’s Congress of Soviets. She also took part in the October Revolution. Subsequently, Kollontaï was named to the Council of People’s Commissars for social affairs, and became a member of Lenin’s first government. In autumn of 1920, she led the women’s department of the Secretariat (Zhenotdel), as well as the Communist Women’s International. Several months later, she helped found the Workers’ Opposition, a move that probably contributed to ending her political career in the Soviet Republic. This political faction of the Communist Party strove to expose the defectiveness of the system. Key issues were the role of trade unions and the over-bureaucratisation of Soviet Russia. In 1922, the faction was abolished, and Kollontai was ousted from the Party.

Stalin wanted Kollontaï out of Russia; to this end, he appointed her to represent the USSR abroad. Thus, in 1923, she became an attaché to the Soviet legation in Norway – one of the first women to take on this role in modern history. In 1926, she was sent to Mexico for similar reasons, but was forced to leave due to health issues, returning to work in Norway until 1930. On 30 October 1930, her diplomatic career brought her to Sweden. In addition, she was a member of the League of Nations’ Soviet delegation from 1935 to 1939, in Geneva. In 1940, the landmark signature of the Moscow Peace Treaty ended the conflict between Finland and the USSR. Kollontaï played a major role in the treaty’s success. The last political function Alexandra Kollontaï took on, in 1945 and aged 73, was Dean of the Diplomatic Corps in Sweden.


(NA)

Work (selection)
  • La révolution, le féminisme, l’amour et la liberté, (textes choisis et présentés par Patricia Latour), Montreuil, Le Temps des Cerises, 2017.
  • Marxisme et révolution sexuelle, Paris, F. Maspero, 1973.
Bibliography
  • Clavin, Patricia, Sluga, Glenda (ed.), Internationalisms. A Twentieth-Century History, Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, 2017.
  • Farnsworth, Beatrice, « Aleksandra Kollantai. Socialism, Feminism, and the Bolshevik Revolution », in American Anthropologist, vol. 84, no 3, 1982, pp. 661-662.
Lire cette biographie en français.

Alexandra KOLLONTAÏ

Alexandra KOLLONTAÏ

1872-1952, Ambassadrice de l’URSS

Née Alexandra Domontovitch à Saint-Pétersbourg le 19 mars 1872, morte à Moscou le 9 mars 1952, Alexandra Kollontaï fut une militante révolutionnaire, politicienne, et diplomate russe du XXe siècle. Elle œuvra sa vie durant à l’amélioration de la condition des femmes. Congé maternité de seize semaines, création de maternités et crèches, obtention du droit de vote et d’être élue, droit de divorce par consentement mutuel, salaire égal à celui des hommes, et finalement droit à l’avortement, autant de combats qu’a mené Kollontaï avec force et acharnement.

Alexandra Kollontaï est issue d’une famille aristocratique russe d’origine finlandaise. Après avoir passé son baccalauréat à Paris, elle part le 13 aout 1898 étudier à l’Université de Zurich les sciences économiques et sociales, où elle se lie avec Rosa Luxembourg. À Genève, Kollontaï s’initie au marxisme avec Georgui Plekhanov, et fréquente également la communauté des immigrés russes. À la suite de la publication de trois ouvrages portant sur le mouvement ouvrier et le socialisme, dont elle est déjà, en 1906, considérée comme spécialiste, Kollontaï s’intéresse avec vigueur à la cause des femmes. Le 9 janvier 1905, elle manifeste sur la place du Palais d’Hiver à Moscou, et fait cette même année la connaissance de Lénine.

De 1906 à 1915, elle est membre du courant menchévique du parti social-démocrate russe. Elle doit s’exiler de Russie en 1908, étant inculpée dans deux procès politiques. Elle n’y revient qu’en 1917, au lendemain de la révolution de Février, mais en tant que bolchévique. C’est à ce moment que la carrière politique de Kollontaï prend une nouvelle tournure : en avril, elle est nommée au comité exécutif du Soviet de Petrograd, puis participe activement à la révolution bolchévique d’Octobre. Elle est alors nommée commissaire du peuple aux Affaires sociales, et devient membre du premier gouvernement de Lénine. Kollontaï obtient, en automne 1920, la direction du département des femmes au sein du Parti (Zhenotdel), et assure la direction du secrétariat international des femmes de l’Internationale communiste. Quelques mois plus tard, elle fonde l’Opposition ouvrière, ce qui présagera probablement de la fin de sa carrière politique en République soviétique. Faction dite « de gauche » au sein du Parti, l’Opposition ouvrière met en exergue les inconséquences de ce dernier – en particulier concernant le rôle des syndicats ainsi que la bureaucratie. L’organe est dissout en 1922 et Kollontaï est écartée du parti.

La stratégie de Staline pour se débarrasser de l’élément Kollontaï fut de l’envoyer en tant que représentante à l’étranger. Ainsi, en 1923, Kollontaï devient ambassadrice de l’URSS en Norvège, devenant ainsi l’une des premières femmes à occuper ce poste dans la période contemporaine. Envoyée pour des raisons analogues au Mexique en 1926, elle ne peut cependant y rester pour des raisons de santé, et revient exercer ses fonctions en Norvège jusqu’en 1930. Le 30 octobre 1930, elle est nommée en Suède. En parallèle, de 1935 à 1939, elle est membre de la délégation soviétique à la Société des Nations à Genève. En 1940, elle joue un rôle majeur dans la signature du traité de Moscou, qui met fin au conflit entre la Finlande et l’URSS. Kollontaï termine son parcours politique en qualité de doyenne du corps diplomatique en Suède en 1945, alors âgée de 73 ans.


(NA)

Œuvres (sélection)
  • La révolution, le féminisme, l’amour et la liberté, (textes choisis et présentés par Patricia Latour), Montreuil, Le Temps des Cerises, 2017.
  • Marxisme et révolution sexuelle, Paris, F. Maspero, 1973.
Bibliographie
  • Clavin, Patricia, Sluga, Glenda (ed.), Internationalisms. A Twentieth-Century History, Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, 2017.
  • Farnsworth, Beatrice, « Aleksandra Kollantai. Socialism, Feminism, and the Bolshevik Revolution », in American Anthropologist, vol. 84, no 3, 1982, pp. 661-662.